The Emirgan Grove is one of the clean, peaceful green spaces of Istanbul. The name “Emirgan” comes from the Iranian nobleman Emir Güne Han. Emir Güne Han, who surrendered without fighting in 17th century Revan campaign, was brought to Istanbul and named Yusuf Pasha. The area in the place known as the Emirgan Corps is now a gift to Pasha. Yusuf Pasha, a friend of Evliya Çelebi who lived in the same period, lived here for a while. After his execution, the grove was given to Hidivi Ismail Pasha of Egypt. Yellow, Pink and White Pavilions were built in this period.
It has been a public area since 1943 and belongs to Istanbul Municipality. The 500,000 square meter grove is one of the green areas of the Bosphorus and is a popular recreation area in the city. There are many kinds of parrot living in the grove. It is also possible to see seasonal birds. With squirrels, insects and butterfly varieties, it is both a place to visit and a destination for photographers. One of the first things that comes to mind when it comes to Emirgan Cove is the Tulip Festival, which has been held since 2006. Colorful tulip varieties are worth seeing.
Emirgan Tree; From the Ottoman sultans in the 17th century, Murat gave to Iran King Gune Han as a gift. Before being given this gift, the grove was called “Feridun Bahceleri”. After the present, the name of today, Emirgan Korusu began to be used. Numerous times, the hand-shifting protections Egyptian Hidiv Ismail Pasha was in possession of three kiosks in the period. The names of these mansions that still exist are in the form of Yellow Pavilion, Pink Pavilion and White Pavilion.
Restored in the Istanbul Metropolitan Municipality, the Yellow Pavilion is an ideal option for unique hours with nature, with its magnificent beauty garden, large pool. The pavilion is operated by Beltur. A’la carte during the weekdays and open buffet breakfast on weekends, the establishment is host to a place that should be visited in Istanbul absolutely.
This pavilion with a view of a two storey Ottoman house serves as a cafeteria on weekends. It is also a suitable environment for mass organizations, weddings, etc. It is possible to work together with the facility for invitations and organizations on an average of 300-350 people in the summer months and 100 people in the winter months.
Situated in the same village as the Yellow Pavilion, the White Pavilion is another of the magnificent mansions on the border of the Emirgan Grove.
Emirgan in the Republican Period
Between 1933 and 1934 Boyacıköy was named as “Uluköy” but it has not been used for a long time in this name. The name Miryun later changed to become Emirgan. The “Bosphorus coast road” opened between 1956-1960 in the framework of the Istanbul zoning movements was also passed through Emirgan; The dock was rebuilt by filling the sea.